Stations of the Cross

Pray the stations of the cross.

The First Station Jesus is condemned to death

They cried out, “Away with him, away with him, crucify him!” Pilate said to them, “Shall I crucify your King?” The chief priests answered, “We have no king but Caesar.” Then he handed him over to them to be crucified. John 19:15.

The First Station, Jesus is Condemned to Death, at Night.

The Second Station Jesus accepts his cross

So they took Jesus, and he went out, bearing his own cross, to the place called the place of a skull, which is called in Hebrew Gol′gotha. John 19:17

The Third Station Jesus falls the first time

He was oppressed, and he was afflicted,
    yet he opened not his mouth;
like a lamb that is led to the slaughter,
    and like a sheep that before its shearers is dumb,
    so he opened not his mouth. Isaiah 15:7

The Fourth Station Jesus meets his sorrowful Mother

When Jesus saw his mother, and the disciple whom he loved standing near, he said to his mother, “Woman, behold, your son!” Then he said to the disciple, “Behold, your mother!” And from that hour the disciple took her to his own home. John 29:26-27

The Fifth Station Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry his cross

And they compelled a passer-by, Simon of Cyre′ne, who was coming in from the country, the father of Alexander and Rufus, to carry his cross. Mark 15:21

The Sixth Station Veronica wipes the Face of Jesus

And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brethren, you did it to me.’ Matthew 25:40

The Seventh Station Jesus falls the second time

In all their affliction he was afflicted,
    and the angel of his presence saved them;
in his love and in his pity he redeemed them;
    he lifted them up and carried them all the days of old. Isaiah 63:9

The Eighth Station Jesus consoles the women of Jerusalem

But Jesus turning to them said, “Daughters of Jerusalem, do not weep for me, but weep for yourselves and for your children.” Luke 23:28

The Ninth Station Jesus falls the third time

For we have not a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sinning. Hebrews 4:15

The Tenth Station Jesus is stripped of his garments

When the soldiers had crucified Jesus they took his garments and made four parts, one for each soldier; also his tunic. But the tunic was without seam, woven from top to bottom; so they said to one another, “Let us not tear it, but cast lots for it to see whose it shall be.” John 19:23-24

The Eleventh Station Jesus is nailed to the Cross

And when they came to the place which is called The Skull, there they crucified him, and the criminals, one on the right and one on the left. Luke 23:33

The Twelfth Station Jesus dies on the Cross

After this Jesus, knowing that all was now finished, said (to fulfil the scripture), “I thirst.” A bowl full of vinegar stood there; so they put a sponge full of the vinegar on hyssop and held it to his mouth. When Jesus had received the vinegar, he said, “It is finished”; and he bowed his head and gave up his spirit. John 19:28-10

The Thirteenth Station Jesus is taken down from the Cross

After this Joseph of Arimathe′a, who was a disciple of Jesus, but secretly, for fear of the Jews, asked Pilate that he might take away the body of Jesus, and Pilate gave him leave. So he came and took away his body. John 19:38

The Fourteenth Station Jesus is buried in the tomb

And he bought a linen shroud, and taking him down, wrapped him in the linen shroud, and laid him in a tomb which had been hewn out of the rock; and he rolled a stone against the door of the tomb. Mary Mag′dalene and Mary the mother of Joses saw where he was laid. Mark 15: 46-47


To be found on the road after the Stations of the Cross is completed is the statue of the risen Lord surrounded he angles.

The shrine of the resurrection, with Jesus surrounded by angels.
Close up of the reserected Jesus.
As looked when first built.